- Medications and Vitamins
Would ground up shell (from a non-clean shell fish) be proper to consume if it is in a vitamin and/or mineral which is good for joints?
There is a disagreement as to whether completely dried out bones of a non kosher species are also not kosher. (In most cases bones used in processing, such as those used to make gelatin, are not completely dried out.) According to Rav Moshe Feinstein such shells are not kosher, and any materiel derived from them is also not kosher. Because of the growing demand for kosher foods and drugs, several companies produce kosher versions of drugs regularly made in an unkosher fashion. See the followin web link for more information: http://www.star-k.org/kashrus/kk-medi-glucosamine.htm In a situation where the only available medicine is not kosher, and it is necessary to improve the quality of life for a person who is not well, The pill should be swallowed whole (not chewed) and preferably placed in a kosher capsule before swallowing.