Yeshiva.org.il - The Torah World Gateway
Ask the rabbi Halacha Medications and Vitamins

Omega 3 tablets

Rabbi Elchanan Lewis6 Cheshvan 5767
908
Question
I would like to know if I could take Omega 3 tablets that have fish oil in them. there is a "kosher" brand on the market but I think that is because it does not contain gelatin. My question is , is the fish oil kosher ? I am taking it as a health supplement and not under a prescrpition from a doctor.
Answer
You should ask a Kashrut authority. Generally, unless it is medicine required by medical advise you will not consume anything that does not bear a Hechsher, especially if contains ingredients form animals. I can’t see how fish oil can be kosher without supervision as there are many non kosher fish around.
More on the topic of Medications and Vitamins

It is not possible to send messages to the Rabbis through replies system.Click here to send your question to rabbi.

את המידע הדפסתי באמצעות אתר yeshiva.org.il