- The Torah World Gateway
Ask the rabbi All the Questions

Priestly courses (mishmarot hakehuna): cycles and leap years

Rabbi Ari ShvatShevat 5, 5777
Dear Rabbi, Some sources say that the 24 priestly courses would just repeat after every 24 weeks. Other sources say that they started at the first Shabbat after Pesach and Sukkot (2x a year) If that were the case, what would happen in a leap year (where there are 4 additional weeks)? Thank you, Shalom, Gerhard
The Talmud (Erchin 11b; Y’rushalmi Shkalim 5, 3) and most commentaries and halachic codifiers state simply that the order of the 24 kohanic families would continuously repeat itself, with no mention of specific dates, and that solves your question of the leap year. As you mentioned, only the second and minority opinion (Rabbenu Chananel, Ravya) would be faced with this problem, and they don’t deal with it. I saw a modern day opinion conjecture that they probably did a lottery among the families to see who would serve 3 times that year, but that’s just speculation.
More on the topic of All the Questions

It is not possible to send messages to the Rabbis through replies system.Click here to send your question to rabbi.

את המידע הדפסתי באמצעות אתר