Ask the rabbi

  • Shabbat and Holidays
  • Chametz and Pesach Products

buckwheat

undefined

Rabbi Yoel Lieberman

Nisan 23, 5782
Question
Is buckwheat considered Chametz? what about the Sephardim?
Answer
ב"ה Shalom Buckwheat, despite its name and despite its grain like looks, it is NOT wheat and is NOT chametz. However, it is Kitniyot, so it is permitted for Sefardim who eat kitniyot but NOT for Ashkenazim. Buckwheat is also referred to as "kasha" and in Yiddish Haretzka and in French as sarrasin. In modern day Hebrew, buckwheat is called " kusemmet "כוסמת = . This is not to be confused with "kusmin" כוסמין which is spelt and is one of the five grains and is CHAMETZ. In the Hebrew of the Torah, the grain spelt is referred to as כוסמת.. See חיי אדם כלל קכו סעיף ו, אגרות משה יורה דעה חלק ב סימן כה, פסקי תשובות הערות סימן תנג א הערה 5 All the best
את המידע הדפסתי באמצעות אתר yeshiva.org.il