Yeshiva.org.il - The Torah World Gateway
Ask the rabbi Shabbat and Holidays Chametz and Pesach Products

Olive oil for Passover

Question
I Used Kirkland Olive oil with OU kosher symbol, for my Passover cooking. Can I use the food this Passover or is it not permissible since it did not have a kosher for Passover symbol?
Answer
ב"ה Shalom This is what I found on the OU website. "All extra virgin olive oils are Kosher for Passover, as long as it bears the OU symbol. All other oils (including olive oil) require a reliable Kosher for Passover certification to be consumed on Passover, except virgin coconut oil" Although, it may say on the oil 100% olive oil, the oil goes through filtering and processing which may involve non- kosher LePessach ingredients, therefore we must adhere to the OU or other kosher agency guidelines. Therefore, I suggest you call the OU, especially if you have already used in your cooking. In some places, I understand they have special kosher LePessach hotlines. All the best חג כשר ושמח
More on the topic of Chametz and Pesach Products

It is not possible to send messages to the Rabbis through replies system.Click here to send your question to rabbi.

את המידע הדפסתי באמצעות אתר yeshiva.org.il