- The Torah World Gateway

Unfortunately an error has occurred while attempting to obtain or display data

Ask the rabbi Halacha Various Products

Royal Jelly

Rabbi Elchanan Lewis20 Sivan 5767
Can pure Royal Jelly be Kosher? I understand that honey is kosher because it is not actually produced by the bee. Where as the royal jelly is produced inside the bee. Am confused, as I have seen in Israel such products with Hechsher of Rabbanut.
There are different approaches in Halacha on this matter. Some hold it to be like honey since the Talmud does not differentiate between the two; Others hold it to be non Kosher because of your point as it comes from an insect. Some are lenient in the case of royal jelly when it’s mixed with honey. (See Talmudic Encyclopedia 23 p. 356 and footnotes for the different sources)
More on the topic of Various Products

It is not possible to send messages to the Rabbis through replies system.Click here to send your question to rabbi.

את המידע הדפסתי באמצעות אתר