- Torah and Jewish Thought
- Torah Teachings
Shalom, I was looking at the part of the Mussaf service before Aleynu on Shabbat, about the making of the Ketoret, and I notice Cyprus wine is used. Did this wine actually come from Cyprus, was it made by Goyim, and if so, how come it was allowed to be used, as wine made by Goyim is considered no kosher?
According to Rashi in Keritut 6a it is wine that comes from a place called Kafras. The Tosfot Beitza 25b suggest it is made from caper – in Hebrew “Kafras”. In any case, it was made kosher by Jews.