Yeshiva.org.il - The Torah World Gateway
Ask the rabbi Halacha Various Products

Bracha on wheat gluten

Rabbi Jonathan Blass30 Cheshvan 5763
2004
Question
What Bracha should be made on products whose main ingredient is wheat gluten, which is the protein of wheat, the starch having been removed?
Answer
Wheat gluten - the protein separated from wheat flour - is no longer considered wheat flour and therefore products made from it - for example meat substitutes, are not pastry products. The appropriate Bracha is "Shehakol".
More on the topic of Various Products

It is not possible to send messages to the Rabbis through replies system.Click here to send your question to rabbi.

את המידע הדפסתי באמצעות אתר yeshiva.org.il